Partner program or affiliate program for a SaaS?
A partner program is for firms that serve clients and bring your product along, such as agencies and consultants. An affiliate program is for people with an audience, such as bloggers and reviewers, who earn a commission, a cut of each sale they send. Many SaaS companies run both. We read five of their public pages on 28 October 2026.
The short version: pick the route that matches who will sell for you. If it is writers and creators, start with an affiliate program. If it is firms that set your product up for clients, start with a partner program.
How do five SaaS companies split the two?
We tried the partner pages of six well-known software companies. Five loaded and one, Zapier's, returned an error. We picked them by name, so this is not a random sample. "Not stated" means the page is silent, not that no rule exists.
| Company | Affiliate route is for | Partner route is for | What the partner route offers |
|---|---|---|---|
| HubSpot | Bloggers, review sites and content creators | Service firms, consultancies and agencies (Solutions Partner) | Not stated on the main page |
| Semrush | Promoters, run through the Impact network, with a 120-day cookie | Certified agencies, regional resellers, technical partners and educators | Agencies: a listing, certification, a badge and leads. Money terms not stated |
| ActiveCampaign | Not covered on this page | Agencies and certified consultants | Resell at a discount, or earn commission on referrals. Amounts not stated |
| GetResponse | Any marketing agency can join the refer route free | Medium and large agencies (MAX program), with a program fee | Up to 50% commission for the customer's lifetime, plus resale and discounts |
| Jasper | Independent affiliates are not eligible | Consultancies, digital agencies and system integrators | "Industry-leading incentives", training and co-marketing. Money terms not stated |
A system integrator is a firm that sets software up inside a client's business. A reseller buys your product at a discount and sells it on, often with its own prices.
Three things stand out. Affiliate routes are mostly open to anyone with an audience, though Jasper turns independents away. Only Semrush and GetResponse showed rates. Partner routes are gated, with an application, and GetResponse adds a program fee. And the money terms for partners are mostly missing from the public page.
What is the real difference?
Ask who sells and who serves.
| Affiliate program | Partner program | |
|---|---|---|
| Who joins | Anyone with an audience | A firm with clients |
| What they do | Recommend you in content | Sell, set up and support you for a client |
| How they are paid | A commission on each sale | Commission, a resale discount, or a shared fee |
| Entry | Open, often instant | Application, training, sometimes a fee |
| Your effort | Low per person | High per partner |
| Best for | Products one person can buy alone | Products that need set-up or a team |
An affiliate rarely touches the customer after the click. A partner often owns the relationship. That is why you do more work for each partner.
Which commission does each route pay?
Only some of it is public. GetResponse is the clearest case. Its page says the refer route starts at 40% of a referred customer's monthly payment for 12 months, rising to 50% after 50 sales in 12 months and 60% after 100 or more paying customers. For the MAX program it states up to 50% commission for the customer's lifetime, and 25% on MAX referrals.
Semrush shows how pages can disagree. Its partners page lists $200 per new sale, $10 per new trial and $0.01 per new sign-up for the affiliate route. Its affiliate page, read the same day, says up to $450 per sale. Either the tiers differ or one page is out of date. Check the live terms with the company before you copy a figure.
For the same kind of table across more companies, see what SaaS programs say they pay.
Which should a SaaS build first?
Use three questions.
- Can one person buy it alone? If yes, an affiliate program fits. If the buyer is a team that needs set-up help, add a partner route.
- Who already writes about your category? If reviewers and creators do, affiliates have an audience to use. If your category is sold by agencies, partners do.
- How much time do you have? A partner program means onboarding and support for each firm. An affiliate program can run on a clear page and a payout day.
Our view: most small SaaS teams should start with an affiliate program and add a partner route once agencies start asking. The same logic applies to the other common fork, affiliate or referral. The reasoning on who the affiliates are is in affiliate marketing for SaaS.
One caution. Do not call an agency route an affiliate program, or the reverse. HubSpot and GetResponse list them as separate routes. A creator who lands on a page written for agencies may not see themselves in it.
Can one person be in both?
Yes. A consultant can run client work and also write a blog. Keep the terms separate. Say in writing which sale belongs to which route, so one customer is never paid for twice. A single rule helps: the first route that registered the customer owns the sale.
What do you need to run each route?
An affiliate route needs a tracking tool, a public page, a payout day and a way to find people. The tools are compared in our guide to software for SaaS affiliate programs. Finding people is covered in how to find affiliates for your SaaS.
A partner route needs more. You need an application form, a short training, a way to hand over leads, and someone to answer partner questions. Few small teams have that on day one.
RecruitAffiliates.ai finds the creators and reviewers for an affiliate route. AffiliateRail runs the program and the payouts. Neither is built for agency resale.
Frequently asked questions
What is the difference between a partner program and an affiliate program?
An affiliate program pays people with an audience a commission on sales they send. A partner program works with firms that serve clients, and may include resale or shared leads.
Do I need both?
Not at the start. Begin with the route that matches who will sell for you. Add the other when its audience asks.
Can agencies join an affiliate program?
GetResponse says yes: any marketing agency can join its refer route free. HubSpot and Semrush list separate routes for agencies.
Do partner programs pay more than affiliate programs?
Not always. GetResponse states up to 50% for the customer's lifetime on its MAX program, and starts at 40% for 12 months on the refer route, rising to 60%. Most partner pages we read do not state money terms.
Which should I build first as a small SaaS?
An affiliate program, in most cases. It takes less work per person. Add a partner route when agencies start to ask.
Find people to offer your terms to
Try RecruitAffiliates.ai free. The 7-day trial includes 20 email lookups, and it needs no card.
Sources
All read on 28 October 2026. None of the pages carries a publication date.